University Reviews

Select country

Student reviews

Sort by
Leticia

Leticia

from Brazil

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2025

USA

12142 Views

THE World Ranking: 601

WRITTEN ON 28 JAN 2022

An incredible experience

It has been a joy to be back at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee as a PhD student. In 2013, I came as an exchange student from Brazil, and I had a great time. I always looked forward to being back as a graduate student, and I am here now. UWM provides a very supportive environment, and I highly recommend this institution if you are looking for a diverse community and other great opportunities, such as a top ranked research university, great learning experiences, and friendly staff and faculty. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Vanessa

Vanessa

from Brazil

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2019

Film / Video Production

Cinematic Arts

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

USA

12142 Views

THE World Ranking: 601

WRITTEN ON 25 JAN 2022

It has truly changed my life!

The school:
In a general sense UWM has a great campus, with a lot to offer! It supports you during academic time with a great library that stays open 24h on weekdays, restaurants, quiet zones and dedicated spaces for each department. It also allows students to enjoy their free time for "free" (sometimes you are stuck on campus between classes) with a gym, rec center, bowling alley, video games, movie theater, soccer fields, basketball courts, coffee shops and clubs/meeting spots. It's truly a great environment. You will find something you like! There are also free weekly events. And the known Panther Fest! They also have safety projects such as B.O.S.S, which is a car you can call to take you places (within a range) and people who can walk you home at night.  

The city:
You won't find so much about Milwaukee on the internet. It is an underrated city, for sure. Milwaukee is a place that feels like a small town but offers you a lot of what big cities do. It is culturally so rich! It allows you to explore the diversity of the world culturally, whether it is through music, culinary, art or accents. The people of Milwaukee have been through a lot (and still do), especially when it comes to racial disparities, but there's something magical about this city that it is hard to pinpoint. I tell you that Milwaukee has given me the best years of my life, personally and professionally. I learned so much about myself and the world there. Milwaukee has this way of sneaking up on you and when you realize it, it has already become a great part of who you are. It's the kind of city that allows you to feel like you belong to a community. Plus, it's pretty close to Chicago.

UWM International Department:
The department is a great support for students. We can feel a little lost when we arrive on campus, but I had great people who helped me navigate this new world of visa, student requirements and cultural differences. They also have a "buddy" project, which assigns a local person to each newcomer (based on similar interests). That can be really helpful to learn the ropes and get an insight of campus life and the city. Also a great opportunity to make a real close friend. They also help you through the OPT process afterwards (make sure you attend their events/presentations).

My department (Film, Video, Animation, & New Genres | Peck School of the Arts):
UWM stood out because of its promise of transforming students into expressive filmmakers, focusing not only on the technical aspect but providing the flexibility to explore the field and ourselves as artists. Learning that UWM had been recognized as one of the best film schools made my decision much easier. The professors were great and really understanding of language and cultural barriers, which made things more relaxed. Every class had its own projection screen/computer system, which made classes easier to follow. I loved it so much that I came back for my MFA.

Money:
Now, that is something you have to make sure to plan for. UWM is not super expensive compared to other schools but it is still a lot of money. Especially if you come from a country where the exchange rate is not great for you. You have your semester mandatory fee for all the infrastructure I mentioned above (thousands), mandatory health insurance (around $700/semester) and International Department fee  (around $100). If you are staying in their dorms you gotta add more to that (mandatory meal plan for that). International students can only work 20h/week on campus. Which means, you will probably be making minimum wage ($7.25/h). So make sure you bring money with you. Life in Milwaukee alone won't cover the costs of your stay.

This experience has brought me so much joy and allowed me to make friends for life!
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
LI-CHIH

LI-CHIH

from USA

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2022

Biomedical Engineering

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

USA

12142 Views

THE World Ranking: 601

WRITTEN ON 11 JAN 2022

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee makes international students feel warm!

University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee (UWM) is a school full of friendly people that makes me feel warm even though the winter was severe when first I arrived. In addition, UWM has continuously offered me graduate research and teaching assistantships to support my Ph.D. study. The opportunity of scholarships allows me to spend most of my time on research and I've made many achievements through the past few years.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Maria

Maria

from Canada

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2022

Project Management (Business / Industry)

Saskatchewan Polytechnic

Canada

41329 Views

WRITTEN ON 15 DEC 2021

Project Management

My overall experience at Saskatchewan Polytechnic has been amazing, the admission process was easy and it is well explained on the website, soon after I got the good news that I have had been accepted into my program. As I started classes online, the college gave us the respective orientation on how to use the website. Once I started classes, I realized that my teachers are well-qualified and they are always supporting their students, the college also offers different services for you to thrive in your studies. They are very supportive of their students. I really recommend joining this institute, you won't regret it.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Hengzhi

Hengzhi

from China

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2021

Music Performance / Playing

Piano performance

California State University Northridge

USA

10298 Views

WRITTEN ON 10 DEC 2021

Very responsible and very professional teaching team

IEP's teachers are very friendly. They are very happy to ask us questions for it, and they are also very enthusiastic to solve problems for us. Here, I meet Sean, a reading professor, who is very humorous, Professor Elizabeth is very serious and responsible, Professor Kristine always kindly asks us to call her "Captain", and Miss Yukiko always shows us the cultural background of American mainland, and at the same time, they respond to emails very quickly. They are all friendly and professional to me and give me many ways to solve my problems.

Here, I think the teacher's method is very good. Teachers always give us a lot of professional English training. At the same time, they actively let us share our views and discuss in class. We can fully overcome our lack of confidence. Teaching teachers are very enthusiastic about teaching. They will have weekly tests, monthly tests and mid-term and final exams. They always measure their own shortcomings well. The teacher will also give you serious analysis and advice.

At the same time, I also took part in special courses to introduce American history, culture and some different customs, which are very fresh and interesting for us. These made me happy and learned a lot.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Carina

Carina

from UK

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2022

Fashion Design

Fashion BA

Heriot-Watt University

UK

18523 Views

WRITTEN ON 14 NOV 2021

Fashion BA

I haven’t enjoyed my studies at Heriot-Watt University and feel so dissatisfied with the learning and teaching that has been provided! After spending hundreds of pounds on books so I can try and help myself learn.  I feel let down as a student and having to learn from YouTube and seek private lessons I am still wondering why I picked this course. Well, because of the ranking. I was certainly wrong.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Rosemarie

Rosemarie

from Australia

Undergraduate Degree

Year of graduation 2025

Operating Systems (General)

Bachelor of Applied Information Technology

La Trobe - Didasko

Australia

312 Views

WRITTEN ON 25 OCT 2021

My experience

Having previously studied as an internal student at a different university, I found the flexibility of the online course to be highly beneficial. I have moved interstate since I started my course and thankfully this has not impacted my ability to access materials which is great. Being an online student definitely has its challenges as I feel that there is little peer support and I often feel very disengaged from the university. I don't find that the university reaches out to me as a student because I'm technically enrolled under a different institution. Also, it can be very isolating not knowing anyone else doing my degree in person as sometimes it's hard to describe my issues without someone here face to face. The online resources are great though. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Jaunty

Jaunty

from India

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2021

Organisational Behaviour

Business Management Post-Graduate program

Saskatchewan Polytechnic

Canada

41329 Views

WRITTEN ON 17 OCT 2021

Delighted to be a part of Saskatchewan Polytechnic

I did not face any difficulty either during the admission process or after getting admission. My program head always assists me in the best way possible. I'm currently pursuing a post-graduation in Business Management. My instructors are well qualified; they are excellent at teaching. Sask Polytech also provides various learning services and a chance to participate in extra-curricular activities to students. I find that very beneficial. I highly recommend joining this institution for a successful and bright future.
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Nemfa

Nemfa

from Canada

Diplomas and Certificates

Year of graduation 2023

Childhood Education

Early Childhood Education

Saskatchewan Polytechnic

Canada

41329 Views

WRITTEN ON 16 OCT 2021

One Community

Being an international student at SaskPolytech has been a fantastic opportunity for me. I've gained so much knowledge and will continue learning in the coming years. Faculty and staff are personable and professional, and they make sure that we students are constantly well-supported. This institution is highly recommended by me!
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects
Natalie

Natalie

from Jamaica

Postgraduate

Year of graduation 2022

Financial Services

Saskatchewan Polytechnic

Canada

41329 Views

WRITTEN ON 14 OCT 2021

Saskatchewan Polytechnic- A learning institution that shapes you for a rewarding personand professional life.

I decided to study as an international student at Saskatchewan Polytechnic because my friend told me I would not regret the experience. 
The application process was easy and I got all the support I needed from the staff at the institution. They hosted orientation sessions and that helped me to get a better understanding of what to expect re attending online classes, coping with the weather and academic support. 
I am having a great experience so far as all my instructors are very knowledgeable in their subject areas, offer support and are accessible.  I have a standout instructor who gave sessions with sound advice re the work world and how to adjust to life in Canada.  All my instructors make the learning environment very enriching. 
Admission process
Funding/Scholarships
Study experience
Life experience
Job prospects